Definition

3 Aug

I’m taking my first crack at a Blog Azeroth topic. Fortunately, I think it’s a neato topic:

 THE BIG QUESTION(s): How does your character define themselves? What part of your character’s identity is the most vital piece of who they are? I know that players of World of Warcraft are a diverse lot. The person behind the screen can come from just about any aspect of IRL. We all have experienced the play-style disparity of the serious player, the intelligent player, the role-player, and the asshat player. Each of these example styles defines their character differently.

There are players who seek to zoom up in level, get the most shinies they can, and top charts. Their character is defined by raw power. There are players who take things slow, completing every quest in every zone for full immersion in the game. That character can be defined perhaps as a lore enthusiast (and get an achievement for such a thing..heh heh). There are many other examples of character definition that I won’t go into (’cause we’d be here a while)…so here’s mine:

I define Amowrath as a healer. That is what I do. And I believe I do it fairly well. I do it at least 2-4 times a week with 9 or 24 of my new best pals. I have the little green and white “plus” sign clicked in the dungeon finder. This aspect of my character’s identity is the most vital. It is the aspect of the character that I have the most experience and enjoyment from. I have confidence as a healer. At times when I switch over to the Prot off-spec to do a dungeon, I get a little nervouse. That aspect of the character I am not all that confident in (mostly because of the person driving it…gear is pretty frakin good). There is also the element of my character that has translated from real life. It’s been a minute since I took a Myers-Briggs inventory, so forgive my incorrect terminology. IRL, I am a helper, a nurturer, a problem-solver, and a mediator. Translate all that into game terms and you’ve got yourself a Healer! This connection between the game and real life can also account for the ease I experienced in levelling another healing class. It seems to be a niche I fit into well, both in terms of style and comfort.

 I believe that, as IRL, we as people tend to define ourselves along the lines of aspects of our lives that provide us with the most enjoyment and fulfillment.

 Twas short, but there it is….(still new at this)

 May the Light bless you….

5 Responses to “Definition”

  1. red cow August 3, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Nice job on your first Shared Topic! :) I am really interested in the replies that focused on how they as a player related to their character, and how RL personality created the in game one. I, like you, am a helper and mediator type of person and also play a healer in game! Great minds think alike?

    • amowrath August 3, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Hey there! Thanks! and i concur re: great minds! lol

  2. Kallixta August 5, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I find that myself personality, such as measured by Myers-Briggs, would be different on each of my characters. Some are FAR more Extrovert than I am, for example. It’s easy to be someone different behind the mask.

    It sounds like you’re just more comfortable in a role that matches your real self. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  3. Kaezhol August 7, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Great post!

    I find it interesting that you bring up the fact that your personality meshes with the role you’ve chosen for yourself in WoW – sort of like what Kallixta said. I wonder how many people choose (consciously or not) a role that mirrors real life and how many choose to be the opposite, using WoW to take a break from their personalities or at least from some of their roles.

    For example, a Mom who plays a healing class because she is the type to nurture and look after everyone. Or, a Mom who plays a damage dealing class to take a break from always having to look after everyone.

    • amowrath August 7, 2011 at 1:19 am #

      Ty! I thought about what you said…interestingly, I don’t believe a consciously chose a healer…it just seemed to be a good fit..my first two characters were dmg dealers…then came the Holy Paladin..an experiment at first like prev characters…but this one was “comfortable”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

