Day 4 – Your best WoW memory

6 Dec

Hello all! I’m back! (I hope)

Perhaps I can get through the 20 day blogging challenge by setting it to “quarterly”?? I really do want to keep this blog rolling..so here’s a rolling restart!

My best WoW memory seems to change depending on prevailing conditions in my game life. As memories go, I make new ones all the time 😀

When I joined my current guild, I admit I was as noob a raider as they come. My previous guild tried time and again to get things going in Tier 11 but to no avail. My first forays into raiding with my current guild kind of got me a little bit of a “derp” label smaked across my head. For months, I endured the (mostly) good-natured ribbing of my fellow raiders. I flipped once or twice ENOUGH ALREADY. I rejoiced when a new raider joined our team and broke the record for fastest death in the raid instance (the previous record was held by me, of course). I endured. I got better. My survivability steadily rose.

A few weeks ago, we were trying to do a Firelands alt run. Lack of attendance changed it into a Blackwing Descent alt run. Of course, we zoomed right through it. Then came Nef. I had done this fight as a healer on Amowrath, but this would be my first time as a DPS character. (My little elemental shaman Slylexia.) The fight went well….until….Nef was only at maybe 2 or 3%. Raiders dropped like flies from adds and the purply-fire. I was alone. True story! 9 people dead..no tanks, no healers, nothing. I froze for just an instant as this sank in. I then unleashed all my shammy power. I admit I forgot about my tank-in-a-box but my fire elemental popped into being. I mashed every button I could mash and zig zagged around Nef, blasting him with LB as I danced. The next thing I knew the achievement banner “Blackwing Descent” flashed on my screen. I had done it! Cheers erupted in vent. “Shammy power” was spammed in raid chat. I finally exhaled and sat back, revelling in my glory. Here was the raider that once couldn’t get out of the poo if his life depended on it, who hit the wrong buttons with some frequency, and only knew how to heal in a raid environment. Now, on a DPS character, I killed Nef…ALONE.

That memory, I think, will carry on for awhile. It was a vindication. I know what I’m doing. I just have to continue to believe it, in spite of the occasional mistake. I may not often have theorycrafting numbers swirling around in my head ready to be pulled out at a moment’s notice, but I know my character, my class, and how to do my job.

2 Responses to “Day 4 – Your best WoW memory”

  1. Effraeti December 6, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I cheered! GJ! And welcome back to your blog! 🙂

    ~ Effy

    • amowrath December 8, 2011 at 8:16 am #

      Thanks so much! Once I get into a little zone with these 20 Day things, perhaps more interesting content will appear 😉

Leave a Reply

