A Ranty Return

15 Aug

I have been going back and forth in my mind about trying this blog thing again. I’ve been coming closer and closer to clicking on my Blog Azeroth link and see if I can reclaim some mojo by trying my hand at some shared topics. That, however, is for another day…

The following is VERY ranty…you have been warned.

Dear Reader, I would like to know…

Why so much negativity?

I react emotionally to many things in what is generally an “instant gratification” fashion. Meaning that if something bothers me, it does so immediately and often dramatically.

I keep up with my beloved WoW community via Twitter. I find out about breaking news from 20 or 30 people all at once! I find it quite helpful! Also, members of my guild have coined our guild chat as actually being on Twitter instead of in-game! 😀

So, where the frak am I going today? I am having difficulty with seeing negativity.

I believe a reason for my trouble with all the negativity, all of these “glass is half empty” points of view is that my real life has been so chock full of negativity for the past year that I am desperate to find the silver lining. A light at the end of the tunnel. Or just acknowledgment of something that is a business or marketing tactic, not something sinister or evil.

Jeez people!! Every move that Blizzard makes is NOT a direct attack against you and its NOT an attack on your race or class or faction, etc.

Every time there is some sort of nerf to a class, the die-hard players of that class invariably say: “Blizzard hates Paladins.” “Blizzard hates Shamans.”  EVERY CLASS EVERY TIME.

People today are bitching about crafting come Mists of Pandaria. Seriously?! How many things do you loot off mobs that you can’t sell and have no use for?

“ZOMG I can’t make a mint on the AH by putting these up for sale?”

BIG FRAKING DEAL! DON’T FUCKING LOOT THEM THEN!

“but..but…I autoloot..And Blizzard is going to make me take extra steps to get rid of items I can’t use.”

Alt F4 then. Kthxbai. Or, if you are a crafter, don’t lump those of us who enjoy using the crafting skills into your microcosm of Blizz hatred. You want to craft by buying the mats? Well, you are out of luck I suppose. I give you the Vulcan adage: “The good of the many outweighs the good of the few.” I, like many WoW players, do not have upteenbazilliontoinfinity amounts of gold to buy all the things that are needed. If you don’t like it, then don’t use it. There are many elements of WoW that I am not into, and you know what? I just don’t do them.

I am not someone who has been plugged into the MMO world for the past 20 years. I don’t feel I know ALL THE REASONS that a game producer does what they do, but I do not understand the focus on the negative. There must be a reason for the BoP nature of Spirit of Harmony. There must be a reason for class nerfs. I am not being a Blizzard apologist I’m just inclined to believe that there is another side to the story. I also understand that feedback is important and that developers often listen. I understand that sometimes bitching leads to change. HEY GUESS WHAT?? So does support and compliments. There is just a tad (read: galactic-scale of little) of the latter out there.

Again, why so much negativity?

I understand people’s initial reactions to change are to: bitch, whine, cry, tear your mantle, whatever you need to do. We are emotional creatures…but then…we need to work toward getting past it. Your class nerfs or your BoP mats are not things to cause un-repairable heartbreak or even a diagnosable disorder from the DSM-IV (both of which I have, tyvm). FIND THE GOOD. FIND THE LIGHT. FIND THE HOPE. I, for one, REFUSE ANY LONGER, to be a CHRONIC CYNIC of my favorite pastime, or entertain the Chronic Cynic. I put people on mute in Vent because I refuse to be an audience, week after week after week, for their complaints that never seem to end.

Yes, my good people, everyone is entitled to their opinion. (Oftentimes, I seem to be the one who is not..hmmmm) I just know from education and experience that a more positive viewpoint is generally a healthier one. I understand that being whatever% lower than The Other Guy on some arbitrary meter somewhere pisses people off. I get it. I believe you should react in the way you feel is best. Again, throw things, punch puppies, dump ashes on your head..whatever you got to do to be okay. Once the calm has returned, consider thinking: “Well, that sucks…BUT, my class can now do THIS! (Insert Something Really Cool And Awesome That No Other Class Can Do.) Or…”Well I can’t use these mats, so I’ll destroy them, no big deal?” I fail to see how this point of view could be anything but helpful.

As a quick aside, I would love to see someone do a blog post about the resiliency of a group of players of a class, that despite being the “shittiest Tank/Healer/DPS, still LOVE playing their class/role.” Where are those folks?  Perhaps I should do one.

The glass can be half-full people. There is a new expansion on the way. There is new stuff to do again. Sure, change is tough. And while my tanking may suck and I’m certain healing is going to make me want to shoot myself in the head,  I’ll get past it because there is fun to be had…

8 Responses to “A Ranty Return”

  1. Amber (@tinkeredrose) August 16, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    Eh, I can totally understand the people asking Blizz to go ahead and make that reagent BoA. It’s going to suck to have bad drop luck on a main or alt that *needs* the materials and amazing luck on a character that doesn’t as it is now. I don’t care if they can be sold, but I think being able to share across my account (even if it’s just same server or same faction) is something they should really strive to do at release. I’m fairly used to them doing things that are nonsensical to me (like Dreamcloth being BoP… would have loved to have been able to slowly make cloth for myself and hand them over to a maxed tailor for upgrades, but I couldn’t).

    • amowrath August 16, 2012 at 9:32 am #

      Thank you for the reply – I like the fact that you suggested a solution vs. an attitude of agalskghas;dfgha;ghaddhwebtwjebb 😀

  2. Lufitoom Dawnrage August 16, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    Been on the Beta a lot. I can farm those Spirits easy. I have no problem doing this at 90… when you really need them.

    Also…. all classes got nerfed. I don’t get it!

    • amowrath August 16, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Thanks for the reply..I’m glad to meet another “no-big-deal-er”

  3. Navimie August 16, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Woo a post! yes, a ranty post but I do like to hear your thoughts on things 🙂 Don’t worry about those half empty glass people Amo 🙂 There are plenty of half full people out there – it’s just that you don’t hear them complain because… well they’re not complaining! 😀

    • amowrath August 16, 2012 at 9:27 am #

      Thanks! Yes it was ranty, you were warned lol…It is hard to not worry about the naysayers at times, as sometimes they are close to home 😉

  4. Malchome (@MalchomeMoG) August 16, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    In a free market that is not restricted by lame BoP restrictions those that don’t have the gold to buy can still farm them. Those that have the gold and not the time can not create time. Also those with the time but not the gold can farm them and sell them to those that have the gold but not the time and then both get something.

    Using your Vulcan saying can be used to argue both opinions which makes the saying pointless.

    The solution without going ranty as you say could also be just to make the BoE, and then we will not see the price gouging we say in Cata with the bloody Chaos Orbs.

    • amowrath August 16, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      Mike, I’m the first to admit I’m the dumbest smart person on the planet…I have the proof 😀 So forgive me if I am confused. How can there be price gouging of a material if they cannot be placed for sale? I understand you are not a questing or farming player…the point of my post was not to go debate the finer points of Bind on Whatever..I used the Spirit of Harmony issue as an example of something that is only one aspect of the game, but has generated negativity that, to the reader, encompasses the game in its entirety. I completely agree that there are other options that should be explored regarding crafting materials. I disagree with you, and others, that seem to say: “This whole game is shit.” Perhaps you feel that it is shit. You are certainly entitled to that viewpoint. My disagreement with you and others is that the negativity reads in a collective “we” voice.

      On another note, thanks for reading my inane babblings! 😀

Leave a Reply

